Northern Echo

Boys Don’t Cry

by Willy Mitchell



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 10/8/2020

Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 358
ISBN : 9781663210586
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 358
ISBN : 9781532098529
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 358
ISBN : 9781532098512

About the Book

Tiny Timpson is Willy Mitchell’s best friend, they grew up together but drifted apart over the years. Willy agrees to meet Tiny for one last blast, he heads to the Royal Oak, in their childhood town, all while knowing in his heart that something isn’t right. Turns out, Tiny has terminal cancer and makes Willy promise to one day tell their story of growing up in the North of England during the Punk Rock era, and this is it, Northern ECHO, Boys Don’t Cry.

It’s the seventies and dark clouds are surrounding Great Britain. A series of events has brought society and the economy to its knees. With few prospects for employment, the youth have become disillusioned. As the punk rock scene spreads over the Atlantic from New York, it transforms into a movement that soon becomes an unlikely catalyst and contributor to change. Caught up in the frenzy of such transformative times, Willy and Tiny take a sometimes humorous, eye-opening journey through one of the most interesting and challenging times in modern British history.

Northern Echo: Boys Don’t Cry is a social commentary of the musical, political, and social revolution that occurred as two boys grew up in a northern town in England during the Punk Rock era.

“Indie Author, writer, and storyteller Willy Mitchell masterfully tells this tale of two boys growing up on the crest of the Punk Rock wave, the disenfranchised youth, a crippled economy, the ‘sick man of Europe’, the Great in Great Britain had lost its shine. Northern ECHO provides insights to those times in this very personal story.

About the Author

Willy Mitchell was born in Glasgow, Scotland. While spending time in bars around the world he has heard many stories—some true and some fictional. Mitchell now resides in California where he enjoys bringing those stories to life on the page as an Indie Author, writer, and storyteller.

This is Mitchell’s fourth book following the political thriller sequels Operation ARGUS and Bikini BRAVO, and his third book Cold COURAGE that tells the epic tale of Sir. Ernest Shackleton’s 1914 Antarctic Expedition. Book number five, Gipsy MOTH, is on its way – this tells the story of his Aunt Nikki, Amy Johnson, and Amelia Earhart, all Aviatrix, set in the golden age of aviation.

For more about Willy and his writing, visit: