The Fearless Flag Thrower of Lucca

Nine Stories of 1990s Tuscany

by Paul Salsini



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 4/21/2016

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 312
ISBN : 9781491795262
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 312
ISBN : 9781491795279

About the Book


IN PAUL SALSINI’S FIRST NOVEL OF THIS SERIES, The Cielo: A Novel of Wartime Tuscany (first place winner, Council for Wisconsin Writers and Midwest Independent Publishers Association), terrified villagers were trapped in a farmhouse during World War II. In the second, Sparrow’s Revenge: A Novel of Postwar Tuscany, a partisan hunted down a collaborator of a horrific massacre. In the third, Dino’s Story: A Novel of 1960s Tuscany, a boy came of age during the devastating flood of Florence in 1966. Then the characters entered a new decade in The Temptation of Father Lorenzo: Ten Stories of 1970s Tuscany (first place winner, Midwest Independent Publishers Association). In the next, these beloved characters, along with a few new friends and relatives, returned in A Piazza for Sant’Antonio, Five Novellas of 1980s Tuscany.

NOW, IN THIS, THE FINAL VOLUME of the series, Father Lorenzo has a surprise reunion, Lucia and Paolo celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary, Anna and a television priest become friends, a supermarket threatens Sant’Antonio’s shops, a new book celebrates Cortona, Ezio’s novel becomes a movie, and a shipload of Albanian refugees brings a new life to Dino and Sofia. In the title story, a long tradition in the art of flag throwing is shattered at a festival in Lucca.

About the Author

Paul Salsini is a veteran Milwaukee journalist who now teaches at Marquette University. The son of Italian immigrants, he is the author of A Tuscan Series, six novels set in Tuscany. He received the Sons of Italy’s 2011 Leonardo da Vinci Award for Excellence in Literature. He and his wife, Barbara, have three children and four grandchildren and live in Milwaukee.