Jane Bennett Munro Unleashes Medical Mystery and Mayhem

Jane Bennett Munro writes so that others may enjoy. By day, she is a hospital-based pathologist in rural Idaho, boasting nearly four decades of experience. By night, she creates page-turners that sweep readers along with the action.

To date, Munro has released five books in her medical mystery series, which follows Idaho pathologist Toni Day through the fast-paced world of autopsies, murder, and cover-ups.

iUnverse author Jane Bennett Munro in her home with an unfocused background.
iUniverse Logo

The Book That Launched a Series

Munro began writing her first book in 1992. Years later, a Google search for publishers led her to iUniverse.

She worked with iUniverse editors to polish her manuscript, and Murder Under the Microscope was published in 2011. The book went on to receive the IPPY Award in 2012.

Published on the heels of Murder Under the Microscope, Munro’s second novel, Too Much Blood, was released in July 2012 through iUniverse.

The fifth novel in the Toni Day mystery series, Grievous Bodily Harm, was released in September 2017.

Jane Bennett Munro reflects on beginning the journey to a medical mystery series with iUniverse.

Beginning Her Publishing Journey

To learn more about Munro's experience publishing with iUniverse, watch his interview here.

Death by Autopsy by Jane Bennett Munro

"I immediately gave my closest friends copies, you know, just as a gift, and I autographed them all and everybody was just so thrilled."

Jane Bennett Munro

About the Series

In this mystery thriller, Twin Falls pathologist Toni Day is propelled down a dangerous path after a new hospital administrator unleashes a callous plan and she is accused of his murder.

Twin Falls pathologist Toni Day is on a Caribbean cruise with her husband and parents when she is jerked out of a peaceful slumber by a horrific scream. After several unsuccessful attempts to reclaim sleep, Toni heads to the ship’s deck to read. But shortly after the sun rises, everything changes when a mangled body plummets from the roof into the pool next to her.

To save her career and the hospital, Toni Day investigates the mysterious deaths of Mr. and Mrs. Pritchard. Her inquiries uncover a decades-old scheme of embezzlement, blackmail, and more. Soon, someone is on Toni’s tail: the killer, desperate to stop the curious pathologist from uncovering the truth.

For more from the Toni Day mystery series, check out the iUniverse bookstore.

Book Reviews

“Munro’s story is a roller-coaster ride of suspense and intrigue, with twists and turns that will entertain a lover of mysteries and forensic crime novels for hours.” – US Review of Books

“Readers may know in their heart of hearts that Day is too competent to cause a death, but this lively whodunit will keep them guessing until the end. A solid mystery far from DOA.” – Kirkus Review

“If this is your first Toni Day novel, you’ll want to go back and start the series from the beginning.” – BlueInk Reviews

Awards & Honors

The Toni Day mystery series received the following awards:

iUniverse author, Lisa Drucker, holding her published book Arise, O Phoenix, in front of a bookshelf.

Lisa Drucker

Read Lisa's Story

iUniverse author Bill Noel sitting on a chair holding a pen and notebook.

Bill Noel

Read Bill's Story

Close up of iUniverse author Violetta Armour, face in focus, holding her published book, I'll Always Be with You.

Violetta Armour

Read Violetta's Story

iUniverse author Doug Gardham holding his published book, The Actor, up in front of a fireplace.

Doug Gardham

Read Doug's Story

Want to Learn More?

Request Your Free Publishing Consultation Below

Fill our form to learn more about publishing with iUniverse

By clicking “Request My Free Consultation”, you are providing your electronic signature, voluntarily authorizing iUniverse and its affiliates to contact you using a manual or automated telephone dialing system and send you advertisement or telemarketing messages by email or text/SMS/MMS message to the address and phone number you have provided above. You are not required to agree to this in order to buy products or services from iUniverse. You certify that you are over the age of eighteen (18). You’ll get up to ten (10) messages per month. Standard message and data rates may apply. Click here to view our privacy policy.