Winning the Cost War

Applying Battlefield Management Doctrine to the Management of Government

by Dale R. Geiger



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 6/27/2000

Recognition Programs

Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 1
ISBN : 9781462041039
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 230
ISBN : 9780595003129

About the Book

“Dr. Geiger’s research proposes innovative and practical responses to the ‘cost war’ fought by government organizations struggling with lower budget levels. His sustained research contributions into the measurement and management of cost in government organizations promise to improve government’s mission effectiveness by improving its mission efficiency.”—Association of Government Accountants

As the United States moves from Cold War to Cost War, the management of cost has greatly increased in importance. In fact, the greatest threat today to the strength of the nation may be poor management of the limited remaining resources.

Winning the Cost War documents a new doctrine of cost management developed from battlefield management, one of management’s oldest applications. Dale Geiger defines and illustrates new ideas for everything from managerial cost accounting to analysis and accountability.

Winning the Cost War has moved managerial costing from being a secondary chore to a framework for success in today’s environment. A must-read for agency and corporate leaders who need to adopt battlefield instincts of strategy and tactics and apply them in the new fiscal war.”—Ward Melhuish, partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

About the Author

Dr. Dale Geiger brings a unique combination of academic study, government management research, and corporate management experience to the problem of improved performance in government. He holds three degrees from MIT and earned his Doctorate from the Harvard Business School after a seventeen-year career that included several significant controllership positions. Dr. Geiger is the recipient of the Association of Government Accountants’ 1995 and 2001 National Author's Awards, 1996 Education and Training Award, and 2000 Career Contributions to Research Award.