The Bear Awakens

Book Two of Bretwalda, the Story of Outlaw-Prince Edwin, High King of England

by David Burks



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 9/26/2006

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 146
ISBN : 9780595413799
Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 146
ISBN : 9780595679010

About the Book

In this second novel of the trilogy about Edwin, High King of England, we find the future king now a teenager, living under the protection of two Welsh patrons. King Ceorl of Mercia has provided Edwin and his cousin Harrick shelter for the last sixteen years, helping the princes grow up with the courtly training they will need to become rulers themselves one day. Prince Cadfan of Gwynned, Ceorl's ally, has also taken Edwin and his cousin under his tutelage in Mercia's summer outlaw camps, teaching the boys how to lead men in battle.

Now the days grow short for Mercia and Gwynned, for Edwin and Harrick, and for all those who have grown close to the outlawed, banished princes. Aelfrith Rex of Northumbria, their ancient enemy, no longer feels restrained from his long-held goal of conquest. And he has set his eye first on the kingdoms which have protected his rivals.

The Bear has awakened, and he moves swiftly toward his revenge. Can the princes survive the coming war? Will they ever gain their own kingdom back from the hands of the Ravager?

About the Author

David W. Burks is the author of two previous novels for teens: Brynna, Saga of a Viking Princess; and Bretwalda, the Story of Outlaw-Prince Edwin, High King of England, Book One: Acha?s Choice. Mr. Burks is a teacher in a Midwestern middle school, and he loves helping his students become good readers and writers in their own right.