Songs like fallen Apples
  • Also available as: E-Book
  • Published: January 2011
  • Format: Perfect Bound Softcover(B/W)
  • Pages: 264
  • Size: 6x9
  • ISBN: 9781450265997
  • Overview
  • Free Preview
  • About The Author
  • Customer Review
  • Editorial Review

This is the third volume of sopolyrimu (songs, poems, lyrics for music) to appear in print. They continue to be enthusiastically received internationally, and in August 2009 Marcus started moving around the world giving reading performances of the work, a process that hopefully will not stop. Seven volumes of sopolyrimu have been completed, with one hundred in each volume. "If these has been released over the author's lifetime he would have become a national treasure by now. The work is distinguished not only by its fine feeling but also by its high level of craftsmanship. In many ways, the work has a serene devotional quality reminiscent of T. S. Eliot.” Harris Smart, teacher and writer, and author of The Yellow House, a multi-media exploration of the friendship between Paul Gauguin and Vincent van Gogh. “Everyone would benefit from reading and hearing these songs. They are profound and unforgettable” M. Ridhwan Is’harc, UK Marcus M Cornelius writer, teacher, bookseller and one-time singer. He graduated from Exeter University (UK), was awarded a Creative Writing Scholarship at Syracuse University (USA) and for seven years was a professor at Hokuriku University (Japan). He is currently finishing the sixth volume of sopolyrimu (songs, poems & lyrics for music). Each volume contains one hundred songs, one hundred being chosen simply because it is a convenient round number. Apart from these volumes of sopolyrimu, more of his work has been published by I-Universe, including Out of Nowhere – the musical life of Warne Marsh, and the first two books in the five-part work entitled Note for Note (Another pentateuch). i-Universe will eventually publish the three other books in the series. Three of his spoken word CDs are available on I-Tunes (for purchase) and (for free listening). The third CD was one step closer to his dream of having original music written for the sopolyrimu; all but two of the tracks are accompanied by music, and three tracks by commissioned music. More CDs are planned. Marcus is working towards the accomplishment of the final goal with the ‘songs’, which is to see them performed accompanied by music and dance. Further details of his work and activity can be found at Marcus now lives in Eymet, France.

Buy This Book

Perfect Bound Softcover(B/W)
Price: $16.95
Price: $9.99